Applications will only be accepted if made on the official Application Form.

2024 Application Form Download

Two (2) Barbara Hale Fellowships: Value $8,000 each

One (1) Jennifer Strauss Fellowship: Value $8,000

Guidelines: It is essential that you read the Guidelines before commencing this form as they contain all necessary information. It should not be necessary to request extra information.

Eligibility: Available to women who are Australian citizens or permanent residents of Australia and have completed at least the equivalent of one year of a PhD degree by research in any disciplinary field at an Australian university. Barbara Hale Fellowships are open to applicants in any disciplinary field; the Jennifer Strauss Fellowship is reserved for applicants in the Humanities.

Purpose: The funds are to be used for a specific project or purpose that will extend the nature and/or scope of the current PhD research program and the applicant’s specialised research knowledge or skills.

Tenure (length) of proposed project:  Project must start on or after1 June 2024 and be completed by 31 July 2025 OR thesis submission date, whichever is the earlier.

Closing Date for Applications: Midnight Eastern Standard Time (AEST) Friday, 8 March 2024.

Application: There is a single application form for all Fellowships. Applications must be completed and submitted on the official form provided. Send completed Application Form and relevant attachments in a single pdf file to AGW Fellowships Officer The AGW Selection Committee will determine the appropriate award for each recipient.