About the AGW Jennifer Strauss Fellowship

The Jennifer Strauss Fellowship is available in 2022

The Jennifer Strauss Fellowship is offered biennially and is open to women graduates who are Australian citizens (or permanent residents of Australia) and are enrolled at an Australian university in a PhD degree by research in the Humanities. Applicants for this Fellowship may also apply for the Barbara Hale Fellowships.

The Fellowship is offered for the second or a subsequent year of a doctoral program. First-year doctoral students and applicants just beginning their research are not eligible.

The Fellowship funds are intended to facilitate a research project that will extend the nature and/or scope of the currently approved PhD program and the specialised knowledge and skills of the applicant.

The project must be completed within twelve months from the official date for commencement of tenure of the Fellowship OR by the PhD submission date, whichever is the sooner.

No later than three (3) months from the approved date for concluding tenure of the Fellowship, the recipient must submit a written report on the work accomplished. The financial assistance given by AFGW must be acknowledged in any published material embodying the results of the work carried out.

In 2022 there will be one Jennifer Strauss Fellowship, valued at $9,000.

In 2008 Jennifer Strauss was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for “service to education as an academic and scholar in the field of Australian literature and poetry.”

Find out more about Jennifer Strauss

Jennifer Strauss

For current information on criteria and conditions, go to the Guidelines. It is essential that you read these Guidelines before attempting to begin your Application.

Application Guidelines


Applications will only be accepted if made on the official Application Form.

Application Form [.doc]


Please provide the link below to your referees.

Referee Info


Email for more information: